There are 6 parts of COLREG, which stands for Convention on the International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea. The parts are:

  • Part A – General
  • Part B – Steering and Sailing
  • Part C – Lights and Shapes
  • Part D – Sound and Light Signals
  • Part E – Exemptions
  • Part F – Verification of Compliance

Each part contains a number of rules that must be followed by all vessels in order to prevent collisions at sea. The rules are based on the principle of “the give-way vessel” and “the stand-on vessel.” The give-way vessel must take action to avoid a collision, while the stand-on vessel is not required to take any action unless the give-way vessel fails to take action.

The COLREG is an important international convention that helps to keep ships safe at sea. By following the rules of the COLREG, mariners can help to prevent collisions and ensure the safe navigation of ships.